Hypertension??? WTF?!?!?!?!?!?!

Shawn

Hello there folks, my name is Shawn. On March 18, 2016 I turned 40. That same week I was at the doctors for a workers comp issue and my blood pressure measured in at 170/110. After 4 weeks of the doctor making a huge deal of it every time I went back for a follow up appointment, I finally made an appointment to see a general practitioner to hopefully get something done about it. I’ve always known I’ve had high blood pressure, but have conveniently swept it under the rug. However, now at 40, I’ve decided I’d like to get it under control.  I am not ready to be ejected off the planet for a premature arrival to Valhalla, the grave, or whatever death leads us to. I weighed 280 pounds (6’5″ height)  at the above mentioned doctor visit and have been close to that for most of my adult life. Since I don’t drink much, never smoke, and rarely feel what I’d consider to be an egregious amount of stress, I have decided that my diet (fried chicken is my favorite food) and my relative laziness/inactivity are the biggest culprits to my high blood pressure. I have switched to salads for lunch and most days Raisin Bran and a banana for breakfast. I need to stay motivated. I have a new 64 GB iPod I received for my birthday and it is loaded with over 12,000 metal, punk, and rock tunes. The music is going to be constant accompaniment for me on this journey, as it has been nearly every moment since I was a young teenager. This post probably seems like disjointed rambling, but it is just the beginning of what I hope is a journey toward health aided by heavy metal…and for once, self discipline. So… horns up, let’s roll!

Leave a Reply

